Allium aflatunense seed head: What to do???

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by Jewell, Jun 12, 2011.

1. Jewell

Jewell Incorrigible Gardener Plants Contributor

Puget Sound Region of the Pacific NW,Zone7b
    My Allium aflatunense are finished blooming and are forming seeds/bulbetts now. This is my first year with these bulbs. Are they prolific seeders or tempermental? Are what I am seeing on the flower head seeds or bulbetts? How long from seed/bulbetts to flowering sized bulbs?

Any information on the maintence and propogation of these would be appreciated. I think I like them.

Also need to know more about their preferrences for growing. Right now I have them planted in my sandy, sunny, warm area of the yard. Are they like elephant garlic and can take a richer, heavier soil with less sun? Just trying to figure out the best micro climates and whether there are other parts of the yard where they would do well.

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. Petronius
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. waretrop
      Replies:
      Views:

3. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash