Apples!

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by muddybob, Sep 21, 2006.

1. muddybob

muddybob In Flower

My Chehalis apple produced four beautiful juicy tasty apples. It is a young tree and this is the first time it has fruited.
    Melrose, another baby, has one single beauty that I can't wait to sink my teeth into.
    Queen Cox needs more time I think.
    My problem tree is Spartan. I moved this dwarf tree four winters ago from my old place. Two years ago I got several wonderful fruit. Some of the nicest apples I have ever tasted. Last year was a crappy year for fruit in this area. But this year the tree is loaded. The fruit is nice and flavourful but in spite of my thinning, the size is quite small.
    I am not very experienced in fruit growing Could I have thinned the fruit when it was too mature? Should I have thinned the actual blossoms before the formation of fruit? Or should thinning take place somewhere in between the two stages?
    I would love some input from someone who knows fruit trees.

Muddy

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

4. pondlady

pondlady Young Pine

Aaah, Washington apples. Yum. Only Michigan apples compare <G>

5. EJ

EJ Allotmenteer Extraordinaire