Beginner needs help getting started.

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by reflexion, Nov 20, 2008.

1. reflexion

reflexion New Seed

hi everyone. :stew1:

i'd like to start a vegetable garden this spring in the side yard where there is the most sun exposure.

i'm new to all of this and am wondering just what all i need to do in order to prepare the soil for the spring. last frost should be in about 5 months, in april. i am located in zone 6b.

i'd like to keep it as simple and low maintenance as possible since this is my first attempt.

i plan on tilling up the soil, but am not clear on how deep i should go or what i should add to the soil. i can't afford to spend much on soil ammendments and the like, so they'd need to be pretty cost effective.
    the ground i plan to utilize is slightly sloping, could this cause any problems?

i also plan to put some 'chicken wire/fence' around the perimeter to keep the critters out.

some foods i like would be:
    potatoes, carrots, corn, green beans, peas, colliflower.

any advice, suggestions, comments, links, questions, or helpful info is much appreciated. i dont know anyone else personally who is into growing food!

*i forgot to ask if there's anything benificial i can do with all the fallen leaves that are covering the ground here. such as pile them up and possibly add other waste and use it for compost? like i said, i'm very new to this!

2. Loading...

3. Allan Perry

Allan Perry New Seed

Starting from scratch

It is a great opportunity to have a" blank canvas", for now I would rough dig the plot(dig in any leaves and organic compost that you can find)and let the frost break down the soil over winter.In the spring when the ground is dry enough you can begin the work the soil in preparation for sowing and planting.
    Allan
    ps save any household organic matter in a composting area ie green leaves,peelings ,egg shells.

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor