G'day from cold Melbourne.

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by chooklips, Aug 23, 2012.

1. chooklips

chooklips New Seed

Hey everyone :)
    My name is Jess and I am 20 and have just moved in to my new home with my boyfriend. Sam and I LOOOOOVE to cook and can't think of anything better than home grown herbs and veggies.

I am just starting out and I have never even pulled weeds out before let alone trying to grow produce. I need a hobby however and I decided to give it a bash. Today I built a box to grow my herbs in, this sits on a sill in a covered area just outside the kitchen. I look foreward to trading tips and ideas with everyone here. I'll upload photos at a later date!

2. Loading...

3. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Welcome to the forum from Central Texas. We are on a small farm and have "chooks" (a term which was explained to me by a fellow Stewie). Looking forward to seeing your photos!

4. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi there Jess and a warm welcome to our forums from Scotland. :-D
    We're here for you to help you out with your new hobby of gardening so if you have any questions feel free to ask us.
    I look forward to getting to know you.
    :stew2:

5. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

Hi and welcome from Ohio, USA. Glad to have you with us. What is the temperature there? Cold as in freezing or cold as in "need a sweater"? too cold to grow plants or what? I can't imagine tropical/never freezes temperatures....I am already getting anxious that summer is winding down here and soon it will be snowing, I am sure.

Advertisement
  6. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

Hi and welcome from SE Texas. Can't wait to see how your new venture turns out.

7. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator

Hi Jess and a warm welcome to GardenStew :) I know what chooks are also but that's what we say to call them, "here chook chook".