hello from illinois

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by brooker882, Jun 1, 2006.

1. brooker882

brooker882 New Seed

Hello everybody!

Let me introduce myself :D

My name is Brooke and im from a suburb of Chicago. I am married (2 1/2 yrs) and I do not have any children yet I'm only 26! I am a photographer for a commercial company in Chicago and my Husband Rick is in advertising. We met In college and have been happy ever since!
    We recently purchased a home outside of Chicago and since the weather finally has gotten nice I want to start my own garden in the back yard. I want to try to grow some vegetables however im not sure with the crazy midwest weather if it is even possible. If anyone has some good advice as to what I should plant in my garden I would greatly appreciate it.
    I planned on my garden being 10ft x 12ft. Is this a good size for a garden? I feel almost complety lost in my hope for a beautiful garden.

Hope to hear back and get to know some of you really soon!

Brooke

2. Loading...

3. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator

Hey Brooke and a warm welcome to GardenStew from a fellow 26 year old! :smt026 27 this July :eek:

You have definitely come to the right place for advice on starting your garden. Folks here are amongst the friendliest and helpful you will find anywhere. We have a lot of fun in the process as well, due to our sometimes 'twisted' sense of humour (believe me hang around enough and you'll understand :D)

While I have your attention why not add your birthday to our calendar and also don't forget to check out our great member blogs.

Great to have you here. I'm sure others will be along to welcome you shortly :)

4. Crazy Orchid Lady

Crazy Orchid Lady Seedling

Welcome Brooke! Glad to have you aboard. Join the fun, we're only slightly crazy here :sete_078: Of course you can grow things there, anything can be grown anywhere with enough persistance :setf_036: