Help for my soil?

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by Ronni, Apr 13, 2013.

1. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

I just had the boxwood shrubs removed from the front of my house that I moved to just before Christmas. Pretty sure they were planted when the house was originally built about 17 years ago, and it doesn't look like whoever lived here before me was much of a gardener so I don't think they took very good care of the soil.

Not that I'm much of a gardener either, I'm very new at this! But I'm trying. A friend whose garden is absolutely gorgeous....lush and verdant with many flower and shrub varieties all of which look fabulously healthy, told me what she uses to condition her soil....equal parts garden or potting soil, Black cow manure, and humus. She mixes it all together and then digs it in. She uses this mixture for all her deck pots (her deck looks like a plant shop by the time she's done!) and also for the annuals she plants every year.

Anyway, she suggested I amend my soil the same way after having the boxwoods removed. Knowing nothing about the subject, I have no way of knowing if it's a good plan, other than seeing the obviously wonderful results in her garden.

What do you all think?

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. Richie Cooper
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Luna
      Replies:
      Views:

3. Jewell

Jewell Incorrigible Gardener Plants Contributor

Puget Sound Region of the Pacific NW,Zone7b
    Taking the advice of an excellent gardener in your area sounds great. Adding well rotted manure, and compost is always a good idea. Potting soil is generally made up of peat, composted material (humus) and some perlite with slow release fertilizer. The more you mulch with locally available materials the nicer your soil will become with nature doing the work..

4. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple