Hi from a Washingtonian trying to overcome a brown thumb.

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by just_a_penguin, Oct 10, 2007.

1. just_a_penguin

just_a_penguin New Seed

Hello hello.
    I'm not what to say. I'm a recent college grad who just got a job teaching at a technical high school in Tacoma, WA. I've only got three belabored but loved plants at the moment: a healthy rosemary, a dying basil, and a sick mint. I've never kept more than one plant alive at a time before, so three seems intimidating.
    But I have ambitions of being an accomplished gardener someday. My mom and grandma are both fantastic, and I'm trying to nurture that garden gene. Right now I'm mostly interested in herbs for food and medicine. But someday, when I have a yard of my own, I want to plant flowers and stuff too.
    I found this site while trying to find out what's wrong with my mint plant. Everything I find online says that mint is indestructible, but I'm barely keeping mine alive. I'll post a question about that in a more appropriate forum.
    Oh, I tend to talk a lot if that's not evident already.
    At 22, I'm the only person I know in my age group that doesn't have a myspace page and isn't active in any online communities. I'm hoping I'll become somewhat active in this one (though I refuse to get a myspace page on principle)
    What else about me?... Well, I'm learning Italian on my own right now and I hope to move to Italy in the next 5-10 years. If anyone wants a e-pen-pal to practice Italian with, I'm interested.
    This looks like a really long post, so I'll shut up now.
    :stew1:

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi Just_a_penguin, welcome to the Stew from north Texas. Okay, you really have to go to this topic
    http://www.gardenstew.com/viewtopic.php ... highlight=
    and explain where your screen name comes from :stew1: