Hi from New Jersey, USA

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by irisann, Mar 16, 2007.

1. irisann

irisann New Seed

Hi, I live in Northern NJ. I am an artist and gardener.(They are the same right? Just different mediums and surfaces). An avid reader & traveler, and love foods of all ethnicities. My last foreign trip was to Italy and the island of Sicily in October and November of 2006. Yum-yum...A favorite place of mine is the Greek Island of Crete. Another Yum-yum!

I currently paint in watercolor, but have enjoyed all mediums. My 2 long time(only since 1967) friends, Carole and Nancy also share the artist mentality. We often get together to paint or attend classes. Carole lives in Florida and teaches watercolor there and in Chaumont, NY (summers only, really!).

I have a daughter in California. She and I share a garden there. I plant and she watches them grow and sometimes not. In April she moves to a new home and as she stated we have a "blank slate" to work with. I will miss the gardens we put in at the old house, but, look forward to having a "blank slate" because there is almost no more room in my own garden for any additions without digging and finding new homes for the ambitious off-springs of old friends.

I am married and my husband, Bill, and I share great trips and love dining out. I read cookbooks and borrow armloads full each time I visit our library. Actually, I love to cook and part of that love is shopping for the fresh foods and dreaming about how I can best cook and present them. Again, it is the artist coming out I think.

I have a son who owns a local camera shop. A Wall Street guy who gave up the world of commuting and followed his dream. He is a great photographer and does great stuff in his shop. I applaud him.