How do I start a Rose from seed????

Discussion in 'Trees, Shrubs and Roses' started by stratsmom, Oct 14, 2008.

1. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

One of the guys at work brought me a ziplock bag with some dried rose heads in it. He was wondering if I could start a plant from the seeds. :shrug: I have never tried this before. The way he describes the rose it sounds gorgeous. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks
    Deanna
    :-D

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

You need the rose hips for seeds and the hips need to be fully ripe or there won't be any seeds. If he brought you what he deadheaded then there probably aren't any seeds and if the variety is one that doesn't produce hips then there won't be seeds either.

Wash off the seeds, wrap in paper towel, place in zipper bag and put in fridge for 4-5 weeks. Then start checking for signs of little roots coming from them. That's when you pot them up with about 1/4 inch soil over them. Keep them inside until you see signs of green, then treat them like any other seedling before planting outside.

Also, the roses you get may not be like the parent plant depending on whether it was a grafted rose, hybrid or not.

4. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

These things he brought me are loaded with big seeds! It isn't the red hip (I don't think) it isn't red and round, it is an actual head. The seeds haven't dried out, they are kind of yellow and about the size of a sweet pea :p

5. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

There are some roses whose hips are yellow or orange too. And I have seen some hips that are oblong instead of round, just depends on the variety.

Try the refrigerator method on them and see if any sprout. There are so many varieties and hybirds that possibly one set of rules doesn't apply to all. ;)