New member LoreD

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by LoreD, Jul 4, 2006.

1. LoreD

LoreD New Seed

Hi,

I am in the western Chicago suburbs and have been vegetable gardening for five years. I have a 2400 square foot vegetable garden at a community garden. I have 75 rare heirloom tomato plants, eggplants, peppers, corn, cabbages, asian vegetable, root veggies, squash, pumpkins, lettuce, spinach, and chard.

This looks like a great place to be.

LoreD

2. Loading...

3. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator

Hi LoreD, you are very welcome to our friendly community here at GardenStew. Make yourself at home and don't be afraid to jump right into the 'Stew' :D

Thats quite a lot of vegetable experience you have there :eek: I would be very interested to hear about your heirloom tomatoes sometime ;)

Welcome again.

4. LoreD

LoreD New Seed

Hi Gnome,

I would be very happy to talk about it. It's been a long road from a total newbie who had never grown anything until today (although I'm still learning).

I grow all heirlooms from seed. I grow red, striped, green(ripe when green), orange, yellow, pink, black-purple, and white tomatoes. If it's weird, I grow it. When I first started my sister asked me if I was going to the trouble of growing from seed, why was I growing supermarket tomatoes. It kind of grew from that. I now give away 1200 tomato plants every spring at the school where I work. All from a potting table with grow lights in front of a window in my bedroom. I live in a condo.

I love to come on the gardening forums because I would like to learn more from all of you.

LoreD

5. Hank

Hank Seedling

Wow! 2400 sq ft of garden is a lot of garden. :eek: And 75 'maters, oh my.

Welcome from Wisconsin!

Advertisement
  6. Pinkiered

Pinkiered The Rose Queen

Welcome from Lafayette!!

7. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor