Newbie in Oklahoma

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by mamma_buddha, Jun 12, 2006.

1. mamma_buddha

mamma_buddha New Seed

I'm from Oklahoma and I'm new to all this. My husband and I just bought a house and we are looking at ways to liven up the yard. Neither one of us have much experience with gardening as we have always rented in the past. So far I have done only a couple things. I made a mosiac in a little area in the front of the house and then planted some sweet alyssum seeds in between the chunks of granite. They were supposed to germinate within 10 days and it only took them about 5 before I started really seeing them. They only took to about half of the area. I think the other half was too wet and the seeds washed away. I'll have to figure out something for that. Also I planted some Lily of the Valley on the north side of the house and out of 25, I have about 12 that took. They are green and no flowers yet so I'm crossing my fingers for next year. Our next project is to dig up all the grass between our garage and house as it's a pain to mow there, lay down that black paper, plant some hedges, and lay down some river rock with a walkway. Also we have a Butterfly Bush to put around our pond/fountain. I am interested in other flowers that attract butterflies so if anyone has any suggestions of plants that are hard to kill (haha)by all means please let me know. We are in zone 7. I do not have a speck of green on my thumb but hopefully by next summer it will have turned a light shade of green. Thanks and I look forward to chatting with you all!

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. Greenbeans
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. New at planting
      Replies:
      Views:

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi there Mamma Buddha. :-D

[​IMG]