Newbie to herbs

Discussion in 'Herb Gardening' started by Bumpeh, Sep 22, 2011.

1. Bumpeh

Bumpeh New Seed

So for the most part I'm new to herb gardening and gardening in general. I was wondering if anyone knew some cheap and easy to grow herbs, I was also interested in seeing if there were any kind of herbs I could grow in the winter here, in Florida. I'm thankful for any help or advice I get on here.

2. Loading...

3. Jerry Sullivan

Jerry Sullivan Garden Experimenter Plants Contributor

There are several methods to continue herb gardening during the winter months. A package of seeds, a pot of soil, water and a window will give you an easy start. There are also several herbs that you can start from cuttings. Where do you get cuttings out of season you may ask? Your local grocery store supplies herbs for cooking some of which can be rooted in a glass of water.

Basil, oregano and thyme, rosemary and sage from the store will give you a alternative source of plants when the nurseries are busy with their fall and winter programs.

Jerry

4. Karrma

Karrma In Flower

Are you interested in herbs for eating, herbs to make soaps and lotions, medicines?

Herbs that are good to start in cooler weather are parsley, cilantro, dill. You should plant these as seeds, as there is a long narrow root, called a tap root, that does not do well when transplanting from one area to another. Make sure some plants bloom and reseed, and they will continue to regrow each year.

Herbs that grow well from cuttings that can be put in water, are basil and mint. Basil will not want to be outside when the weather is less than 50 degrees at night. Mint, always keep it in a pot, as it can spread and become a weed.

I really like my evergreen and perennial herbs. Rosemary, sage, oregano, thyme. I have always bought them as a small plant, not grown them from seed. They transplant well, and could be put in the garden most anytime in Florida.