Plant Database Mis-information.

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by Malcolm Mann, Jun 3, 2013.

1. Malcolm Mann

Malcolm Mann New Seed

Your data base hase given a 5 star rating to Chinese wisteria. I am new to Garden Stew, but grew up on a dairy farm and I know B.S. when I see it. Chinese wisteria is one of the most destructive, albeit "pretty" invasive species U.S. citizens have to deal with today. There is an American species, cultivar
    'Amythest Falls' which is superior in every way.

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

The ratings are given by individual members based on their experience with the plant. It's their opinion and therefore is not wrong nor B.S.

You are free to add your own opinion about the plant on the plantpage. Wisteria sinensis (Chinese Wisteria)

With opposing opinions, other member will have a chance to make up their own minds about whether that plant is something they want to have in their garden.

4. waretrop

waretrop Strong Ash Plants Contributor

AND I might add..... by the time we all get started we all realize that some plants grow like crazy in some places and maybe not in others.....

I wouldn't say that about Chinese Wisteria but I sure would about simple little Bee Balm.... It has taken over my front gardens. I tear it out with my bare hands...but I know...I don't through it out I but it where it will have lots of room to grow..

My hubby and I laugh about the idea that something is invasive or not..

5. Malcolm Mann

Malcolm Mann New Seed

Humorous Invaders.

I can hook you up with a chinese wisteria start and let you come to your own conclusion about its invasivness. Have you got a frame home? Siding? You're going to look back on your mischevious bee balm and LAUGH!

Advertisement
  6. Mrs. Galeassi

Mrs. Galeassi In Flower