Squash uprooted and peppers beheaded, can they be saved?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by gardenruiner, Jul 22, 2007.

1. gardenruiner

gardenruiner New Seed

I am in need of some advice from people who know gardening. I am staying at my sister's house, and while trying to move her soaker hose (which I later realized wasn't supposed to be moved) I unwittingly uprooted her squash and beheaded her peppers. As you can guess, she's VERY upset. She cried, and I feel like a big jerk...I was just trying to help water her garden.
    The squash roots were exposed to the air for a day...is there any way to save them? Special soil? Special treatment?
    And is there any way to save a severed pepper plant? I'm willing to put some time into this...and to buy the things I need, but I just don't know where to begin. Thanks for any tips.

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I am not a vegie expert but replanting the squash and watering the roots well might be all that is needed to keep the plant alive.

By beheading the peppers how much damage do you mean? Did you cut the plant off at ground level? If so, I don't think there is anything you can do for it except drive around to garden centers trying to find a replacement plant. If you just broke off some of the stems, the plant will use it's energy towards putting out peppers on the other stems so you might get lucky there.

If neither of the plants is salvagable, replacing them might be an option...at the very least you might have to supply her with replacement produce from the local farmers market to make up for her loss. :-D

4. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I wouldn't worry too much GR as we've all done things like this I can assure you. My husband, for instance, has a habit of pulling up my seedlings thinking they are weeds - even when I have labels sticking out of the ground beside them. :rolleyes: