TN birds

Discussion in 'Bird' started by birdnuts, Feb 2, 2007.

1. birdnuts

birdnuts New Seed

Hi,
    I am a bird person that seems to collect squirrels. They constantly are chewing on my feeders. I finally got a steel one that has been insurmountable so far. The others have dropped like flies. A family of 7 squirrels love to forage in my yard and feeders.

The birds I adore the most are the bluejays. Some people don't like them but they police the yard and let all the other birds know when danger is around like hawks or cats.

I am also a web student and have an internship in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and we have a guy who goes out in a leafy "hazmat" camo suit and records bird calls. He is a biologist and a dedicated birder working on his doctorale.

Bluewing0 likes this.
  2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. marlingardener
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Melody Mc.
      Replies:
      Views:

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi there Birdnuts. I have done a bit of tidying up on your post but have left in the piccie of your friend - great shot!! I hope you'll stay around and join us here at GardenStew. Do read our Forum Rules before posting any further links though please. Thanks. :)

4. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator

Hi birdnuts, welcome to the Stew. I sure would love a suit like the one posted. Have you ever got a chance to wear it?

It would be great if you had any photos of the park and all its inhabitants. We would love to see them.

Welcome again.

5. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Welcome to the Stew birnuts.
    I have 4 very pesky squirrels in the yard, at the feeder before, during and after the birds have dined....I even made them thier own squirrel buffet and still they go for the bird feeders. Oh, well.