Tree with white flowers / yellow center

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by pamo, Jun 22, 2008.

1. pamo

pamo New Seed

Hi everyone!

I am new here and have registered so that I could possibly ask that you take a look at this tree I have in my yard. I have never been much of a gardener but I really hope to start since I have moved recently and have a yard with endless possibilities.

Anyway! The tree is about 20 feet tall right next to my house. The trunk is small and there are white flowers with a yellow center blooming. They smell good but I can't describe the smell. Here are the pictures of the tree in question. Can someone let me know what this is? Once again, I am a complete beginner at plants but I hope to "grow"! :)

Here's the flower that grows on the tree:
    [​IMG]

Here's the tree trunk/bark:
    [​IMG]

Thanks for any help you can provide!
    Pam

2. Loading...

3. Droopy

Droopy Slug Slaughterer Plants Contributor

Welcome, Pam, from coastal mid-Norway. :stew2: I'm not familiar with your tree. Which zone are you in?

4. Joann

Joann Seedling

It looks like a Mock Orange. Mine just finished blooming a few weeks ago. They do smell wonderful.

5. pamo

pamo New Seed

Hi!
    Nice to meet you!

I am in the US in very southern Alabama. I'm about 6 miles from the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. I think I'm in zone 9.

I looked up Mock Orange and the pictures I found don't match what I have. Is this what yours looks like, Joann?
    http://roses.toytrains1.com/mockorange.htm

Mine is very tall and has a slender trunk. The petals are rounded on the top and don't have any kind of indention in them. The tree is taller than my porch roof overhang. The plant in those pictures looks more like a bush or shrub. This has me very mystified. Everyone that has come to see our new home has said "ooooo what a pretty tree! What is it?" and I have had to say I don't know (although that's not a surprise out of me) :-D

Thanks for taking a look!
    Pam

Advertisement