Water Bath or no Water Bath, that is my question

Discussion in 'Recipes and Cooking' started by toni, Sep 2, 2011.

1. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I am not a newbie to jelly and jam making, I started with a box of Ball jars, a bottle of Certo (remember the brown bottles that held enough for two batches?), the instructions sheet from Certo, a bag of sugar and a bottle of Tropical Punch drink....way back in 1972 in a cabin on the side of a mountain in Evergreen, Colo. By the end of that summer I had 5 dozen jars of jelly and jam in the pantry.....I was having so much fun, I got carried away and made jelly from every fruit juice/drink I could find and jam from every fruit that showed up in the grocery store. ;)

And over the ensuing 39 years I have made gallons of jelly and buckets of jam. But never once have I used the water bath method on them. I keep the jars in a large pot of boiling water until ready to use, take the jars out, the water inside evaporates and I pour the jam/jelly mixture into scalding hot jars, seal with hot lids, put on the bands and set the jars on the table waiting to hear the 'ping' of the lid sealing. I also say Thank You with every ping, but that started with the excitement of making that first batch and thanking each one for sealing....quirky I know.

I store the jars in a cupboard, give them to family and friends as gifts and we eat more than our share of them too and not once has anyone gotten sick.

So what purpose does the water bath for jam and jelly serve? :shrug:

2. Loading...

3. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

I do it the exact same way :-D However, it has been quite some time since I made jam, just get too busy I guess :'( If I found a good batch of peaches I could be talked into making peach jam, my hubby's favorite :p I was always confused by the water bath too :-?

4. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash